Using Kontact/Kmail Again

I’ve used Kontact or it’s email client component, Kmail, as my main mail client since, I think, 2005.

That was until I upgraded my main laptop to 11.10 with KDE 4.7 (and Kmail2). I tried, but I just couldn’t get it to work (I know it worked for some, just not for me). In Kubuntu we even tracked kdepim (the KDE component where Kmail lives) updates and when 11.10 was released it was at a post-4.7.2 snapshot when the rest of the KDE SC was still 4.7.1.

It wasn’t enough for me. I was stuck in Thunderbird (which is not a bad mail client, just not the one for me) until last week when KDE SC 4.7.3 and Soprano 2.7.2 made it into oneiric-proposed for testing and I upgraded that same laptop. It still took a bit of fiddling to get everything working, but it’s usable for me now.

These same updates were copied to oneiric-updates in the last day, so they are available for everyone now.

We are also testing KDE SC 4.7.4. For now it can be installed from the . Please give is a test and see how it goes. It should be even better.

5 Responses to “Using Kontact/Kmail Again”


  1. 1 baxeico December 20, 2011 at 11:28

    >>> It still took a bit of fiddling to get everything working, but it’s usable for me now.

    Can you be more detailed here? I’m still with Natty and KDE 4.6 because I fear the Kmail2 upgrade. Now I’m quite tempted to upgrade, but I would like to know what issues I could still encounter.

    Thank you!

  2. 2 skitterman December 20, 2011 at 11:43

    I’m afraid to be too specific as it seems the experience is different for everyone. For some it works fine, others, not so much.

    My general advice is to back up your data and move your mail aside (~/.kde/share/applications/kmail) and then import it again after upgrading.

    In addition to Kmail2 problems, I was also having a problem where Soprano/Nepomuk wanted to re-index all my email after every suspect/resume on my laptop. That seems to have been resolved with the soprano update.

    I had to use akonadiconsole to reset the password on the mail dispatcher agent. Since akonadiconsole is meant to support development and not users, it’s a tool to be careful with.

  3. 3 Mark December 20, 2011 at 19:51

    I wish I could be so positive about Kmail2 too. Motivated by the changelog I upgraded to KDE 4.7.4. Unfortunately Kmail is not working at all, Mail checking is permanently stuck. I even started with setting up a fresh account. That is very frustrating and for the moment I am using thunderbird now.

    • 4 skitterman December 21, 2011 at 01:04

      When I upgraded to 4.7.3, I still had a problem where I could not get it to send mail until I restarted the mail dispatcher agent using akonadiconsole. It appears the problem was that it thought it had the (wrong) password and it didn’t. Once I restarted it, it asked for the password and then has worked since.

      Although I can’t promise anything, you might try restarting the agents you have set up for receiving mail the same way.

  4. 5 Tim Richardsn December 21, 2011 at 01:41

    it’s certainly getting better. I’m still not convinced about performance, but stability is much better (4.7.4).


Leave a Reply

