Final U/I for Kubuntu Netbook Edition in Karmic

Not much more to say. Have a look:
KNE_u_i.png

7 Responses to “Final U/I for Kubuntu Netbook Edition in Karmic”


  1. 1 deriox September 29, 2009 at 00:25

    That’s totally awesome. I only wish i had a netbook 🙂

  2. 2 Jono Bacon September 29, 2009 at 01:54

    Man, that looks sweet! Great work!

  3. 3 Jonathan Carter September 29, 2009 at 02:02

    Man the Kubuntu team never fails to impress. Very nice, I’ll have to sacrifice my gnome desktop on my netbook for a while and try it out!

  4. 4 avocado September 29, 2009 at 04:56

    Hey that looks fantastic.
    Cant wait to stick it on my new Samsung n110.
    Thanks so much for your efforts.

  5. 5 John M September 29, 2009 at 05:23

    Man, this is one great looking project. And the way the devs made such great use of desktop space by allowing you to scroll the entire desktop up and down – pure genius (don’t know if this is default behavior in KDE 4 as I’m a long time GNOME user, but it’s cool anyway). I’ve been dual booting Jaunty and Karmic UNR for some time now, but have also been playing with the KDE Netbook releases on and off as well, and I must say that at this point in time it’s a coin flip as to whether or not I’ll stick with UNR when 9.10 is released, this project looks so sweet. Ever since the network manager issues got fixed on KNE, I have very little to gripe about anymore. Only thing clouding my decision is having to learn a new desktop environment, but the way this is shaping up is making it incredibly tempting to switch.

  6. 6 zombo October 30, 2009 at 12:33

    I tried the new kubuntu remix on my dell mini 10 and the 1024*768 resolution is not recognized and neither did the wireless work…any ideas? I think if i have to hack it like i did to get ubuntu 9.10 netbook remix to work using jaunty backports, then it is a total waste of time.

  7. 7 ScottK October 30, 2009 at 18:23

    If it’s a Dell mini 10, it’s got the proprietary Poulsbo chipset and there aren’t drivers available for Karmic. Nothing anyone in *buntu can do about that, It’s up to Dell/Intel.
    It works great on a Dell mini 10v (that’s what I used for development testing).
    It might not be very hard to backport this a a Jaunty PPA. Let me look into it.


Leave a Reply

