KDE 4.3 new systray and “System Indicator”

I guess the reaction to my last post is a good reminder that a distro developer ought to go see what upstream has already done before considering what the distro ought to add (I knew that). I also knew about the new systray protocol in KDE 4.3. I’ve even watched the video before. I completely brain dumped about it last night when I was writing.
Fundamentally it looks like I’ll be able to get rid of all the systray stuff i don’t care to see just using that. So that’s pretty cool. I just wish I’d remembered before I put the time into writing that last night. Ugh.

1 Response to “KDE 4.3 new systray and “System Indicator””


  1. 1 Gumbas May 14, 2009 at 00:49

    You can already (in kde 4.2) hide the icons you don’t want shown in systray in the systray widget settings (KDE4.3 will improve hiding by categories).


Leave a Reply

