Kubuntu Intrepid – Teenager Ready

After the final freeze on Sunday I started looking at pre-release testing. I decided it was time for the kids to experience KDE4. This mostly affects the teenagers (we have two). Our five year old is happy if I open Kate for her and she can practice typing (she also loves Mr. Potato Head).
They’ve been using Linux as their primary operating system for about 3 years now. They like it OK, but get frustrated with the ocassional incompatibilites with the things their friends (all on Windows) do. The younger of the two has borrowed my Kubuntu laptop and taken it to school to give presentations using OOO.
The upgrade itself is an interesting story having to do with some hardware specific regressions that will end up in the Intrepid release notes (yeah for testing).
The cool part was last night when one of them (who is not very technically minded at all) turned to me and said, “Dad, guess what? I figured out widgets. They are SO cool!”. It’s the first time I recall her excited about something she could do on the computer. Dad thinks that is “SO cool”.
KDE4 – Making computers fun again.

4 Responses to “Kubuntu Intrepid – Teenager Ready”


  1. 1 Fernando Bombo October 29, 2008 at 09:57

    Kids are linux’s future

  2. 2 Mike October 29, 2008 at 15:44

    Yeah? Give it a month and give an update.

  3. 3 Bogdan Bivolaru October 30, 2008 at 09:22

    Please keep us posted. I would be quite interested in how kids do on Linux, especially on KDE4.

  4. 4 ScottK October 31, 2008 at 00:07

    Once I have a few minutes, I’ll write up something on how I transitioned them from Windows to Linux.


Leave a Reply

