Hello Planet Ubuntu

There have been enough times where I’ve wished I had a blog that I finally decided to get one. I’m not sure how much I’ll write, but here I am.
Obligatory introduction:
I’ve run Ubuntu both on servers and a Kubuntu desktop since Dapper (in fact I’m typing this in Konqueror on that same Dapper desktop). I got involved in MOTU and Ubuntu development during Feisty. I became a MOTU (I think) early in the Gutsy development cycle. I got core-dev earlier this year.
Currently I’m one of the motu-release team that helps make sure we have Universe in some sense of order for release. I’m involved in both Kubuntu and Ubuntu Server development. I do reasonably well with packaging. I don’t code except in Python. I’m also involved in Debian in a number of teams and will someday complete the NM process and (hopefully) be a DD too.
I believe in working closely with Debian and trying to minimize our differences to those that are needed due to policy or different empahsis. There are an order of magnitude more Debian developers than Ubuntu developers. Without a strong Debian, Ubuntu is in deep trouble.
I’m usually on IRC on one Ubuntu channel or another as ScottK. Feel free to say hi. Rumors to the contrary, I don’t generally bite.

2 Responses to “Hello Planet Ubuntu”


  1. 1 Nathan Handler October 20, 2008 at 22:49

    Welcome to the Planet Scott! I’m looking forward to seeing what you end up blogging about.

  2. 2 Lure October 21, 2008 at 03:21

    Nice to have you on Planet!
    Particularly as Planet Ubuntu is the only link (besides regular apt-get upgrade 😉 ) with Kubuntu that I am able to follow in past months… Nice to have more and more Kubuntu developers on the Planet!
    And yes, I can confirm that Scott does not bite! 😉


Leave a Reply

