Menubar for Gtk and Qt/KDE apps on Kubuntu

Recently, I showed the new global menu bar in action on Maverick’s Kubuntu Netbook.  That post only covered getting the menubar widget to work with Qt/KDE applications.  I’ve now got it working for Gtk apps too.

Gimp using the menubar

This is a screenshot of me editing the last post’s screenshot with The Gimp on Kubuntu Netbook.

To get Gtk applications working with plasma-widget-menubar, you need to install appmenu-gtk using your favorite package management system.  Currently there is one special trick needed in addition.  You need to edit /etc/X11/Xsession.d/80appmenu and remove “export APPMENU_DISPLAY_BOTH=1”.  After you’ve installed the package and edited the file, you’ll need to restart your session.

10 Responses to “Menubar for Gtk and Qt/KDE apps on Kubuntu”


  1. 1 Ryan July 9, 2010 at 17:01

    I assume that this is (or will be) cross-compatible with the corresponding effort on the Ubuntu/GNOME side?

  2. 3 David July 10, 2010 at 00:06

    I assume the icons are temporary and will eventually use the actual ones?

  3. 5 djolk October 2, 2010 at 18:32

    If the export line doesn’t appear in 80appmenu, will global menu (on kubuntu) still work with gtk apps?

  4. 7 adyaaron November 2, 2010 at 05:03

    The above export line doesn’t appear in my 80appmenu but still the global menu does not work for me with gtk apps. Is there anyway to work around this problem?

  5. 8 naught101 December 10, 2010 at 19:48

    hrm.. this didn’t work for me. Like djolk, I don’t have that line in my /etc/X11/Xsession.d/80appmenu, I just have

    export UBUNTU_MENUPROXY=”libappmenu.so”

    After installing appmenu-gtk, I retarted kde, and it didn’t change anything. Any other ideas?

  6. 9 molecule-eye January 10, 2011 at 09:44

    Is it just me or does the menubar jump when changing applications? The only way to prevent it from doing this is to shrink the height of the panel to some extremely low size, maybe 22px but I can’t tell since KDE removed the exact height numbers when height resizing.

    • 10 molecule-eye January 11, 2011 at 18:01

      And like the others, I didn’t have the relevant line in my 80appmenu and the menubar doesn’t work with GTK apps.


Leave a comment